Big names on board for project to celebrate Anglesey’s rich mining history
Huw Edwards and Siân Lloyd join project to celebrate how a backwater village was transformed by copper into the second biggest town in Wales
Celebrities including Huw Edwards and Siân Lloyd have thrown their weight behind a project highlighting Anglesey ’s rich mining history, which saw a backwater village transformed into the second biggest town in Wales.
The duo have agreed to become patrons of the Amlwch Industrial Heritage Trust, which runs the Copper Kingdom attraction in Amlwch Port.
TV newsreader Edwards and former weather presenter Lloyd, alongside former Deputy First Minister, AM and MP Ieuan Wyn Jones, will join existing patron Baroness Glenys Kinnock.
The Copper Kingdom Centre and Maritime Exhibition depicts the fascinating story of the copper industry following the discovery of copper ore on Parys Mountain in 1768.
Remarkably, the nearby small fishing village of Amlwch came to dominate the world’s copper markets and the population grew from a few hundred to over 5,000 by the turn of the century.
This gave rise to a thriving shipping industry and an Act of Parliament was needed in 1793 to enlarge the small port.
The fame of the Amlwch copper industry was such that it attracted many eminent visitors, including the great scientific discoverer, Michael Faraday, who visited and inspected the copper mines in 1819.
At the turn of the 19th century Amlwch was the second biggest town in Wales behind Merthyr Tydfil, largely due to the copper mining industry.
But within 100 years, the industry had declined and deep mining ceased – mainly to the import of cheaper ores.
“You have a fantastic story to tell and it’s important that as many people as possible hear it,” said Huw Edwards during a visit to the centre last October.
Sian Lloyd, meanwhile, recently discovered that her great-great grandfather worked at the copper mine, and was on hand to officially open the sail loft attraction in 2015.
The Copper Kingdom Centre, Maritime Exhibition, shop and café in Amlwch Port are now open, weekends only initially, up to the Easter holidays.
Perfformiwyd y drama Twm Chwarae Teg yn y Ddeyrnas Gopr cyn ei daith o amgylch ysgolion môn.
The Current Chairman ( Mike Williams) and Trustee ( Peter Williams) making a presentation to the immediate past Chairman ( Gareth Wyn-Jones)
Staff will be working over the winter period to update and improve your experience of the “Copper Kingdom”.
The centre will open again for Easter 2017.
In the mean time why not enjoy a self guided walk around Parys Mountain?
The Television broadcaster Huw Edwards recently visited us here at The Copper Kingdom.